

NEWS RELEASE

January 8, 2007

Teams qualified for the 2007 Pan American Games

The Pan American Hockey Federation has announced the teams that have qualified for the 15th Pan American Games to be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from July 15 to July 25, 2007.

The **men**'s teams that have qualified for the competition are:

- Brazil (host country)
- Argentina (winner of the 2006 ODESUR Games)
- Chile (second at the 2006 ODESUR Games)
- Cuba (winner of the 2006 Central American & Caribbean Games)
- Trinidad & Tobago (second at the 2006 Central American & Caribbean Games)
- Canada (highest ranked team at the 2004 Pan American Cup not otherwise qualified)
- Netherlands Antilles (second highest ranked team at the 2004 Pan American Cup not otherwise qualified)
- Mexico or USA

The 8th country will be determined after a three-match series between Mexico and USA, scheduled in Bermuda on March 8, 10 and 11, 2007.

The **women**'s teams that have qualified for the competition are:

- Brazil (host country)
- Argentina (winner of the 2006 ODESUR Games)
- Chile (second at the 2006 ODESUR Games)
- Cuba (winner of the 2006 Central American & Caribbean Games)
- Netherlands Antilles (second at the 2006 Central American & Caribbean Games)
- USA (highest ranked team at the 2004 Pan American Cup not otherwise qualified)
- Canada (second highest ranked team at the 2004 Pan American Cup not otherwise qualified)
- Uruguay (third highest ranked team at the 2004 Pan American Cup not otherwise qualified)

The Pan American Games are a qualifier for the Olympic Games, with the two winners in Rio de Janeiro earning an automatic berth for the 2008 Games in Beijing.

For more information, please visit the Pan American Hockey Federation web site at www.panamhockey.org

The Pan American Hockey Federation (PAHF) is recognized by the FIH as the governing continental federation for all field hockey in the Pan American region. There are 22 member Nations of the PAHF. For more information please contact info@panamhockey.org